There are so many sites that use this service from Vibrant Media, I came across one myself today. A HijackThis log ... very annoying ... and I was too busy to take a look at it.
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 19:40:17, on 07/09/2005
Platform:
Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
Windows XP --> Buy windows XP at blah blah
Moore did immediately point out the *.intellitxt.com domains when I talked about it.
A Google search reveals a lot of sites, the first search page gives already the following sites (I got 11500 results ... )
itxt2.us.intellitxt.com
jupiter.us.intellitxt.com
iamnotageek.us.intellitxt.com
examnotes.us.intellitxt.com
compnet.us.intellitxt.com
computeractive.uk.intellitxt.com
toms.us.intellitxt.com
uk.intellitxt.com
An adblocker will be the best solution for this type of sites like Moore did point out. It will only need one string to block them all. A hosts file will not be that suitable for it as you can't use wildcards unfortunately.
I did add
intellitxt.com to the Ad blocking feature in Norton and it works too. No more underlined links.