Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: ISPs hosting spyware - who are they?
B.I.S.S. Forums > Malware Research Forum > Malware IP Research Section
Moore
ISPs hosting spyware - who are they?

Posted by Suzi Turner

http://blogs.zdnet.com/Spyware/?p=763

Recently I mentioned ISPs hosting spyware and said "Everyone in the anti-spyware community knows who these ISPs are." Now we have a perfect example.

It starts with a SANS post today recommending to unblock an IP range they previously recommended blocking.

QUOTE
Based on feedback from Intercage customers, we no longer recommend to block them. Please let us know if you see any problems from 69.50.160.0/19 and we will try to facility contact and a resolution.


SANS had previously posted:

QUOTE
I hate block lists… maybe because I have been on the 'wrong end' of them in the past. But after careful consideration, we do recommend blocking traffic from these two netblocks:

InterCage Inc.: 69.50.160.0/19 (69.50.160.0 - 69.50.191.255)
Inhoster: 85.255.112.0/20 (85.255.112.0 - 85.255.127.255)

The list may be updated later. We do not expect to make this a "regular feature". But at this time we find that it is necessary to point out these particular two netblocks.

They have been associated with a number of high profile criminal activities in the past. A good number of WMF exploits use name servers or other resources in these netblocks. They have been non responsive to current and past requests to remove malicious content.


When I read the SANS update this morning, I shook my head.

This afternoon, I saw that I wasn't alone in my thinking. SunbeltBLOG has posted screenshots of malware being downloaded from InterCage and Inhoster IP addresses.

The screenshot of the domain at Inhoster shows a wmf file along with the system tray pop-up for a rogue anti-spyware program, like what we've seen with SpyAxe. There are some interesting comments on the blog post, notably one from Johannes Ullrich of SANS saying "This range appears to be more on "auto pilot" then "malicious on purpose".

My reply to that was it doesn't matter if the range is on auto pilot or malicious on purpose, the end result is the same for anyone with an unprotected computer. Boom!! Infected with spyware and malware. Apparently legitimate customers of the ISPs were complaining about being blocked. I see that like good people living in a bad neighborhood. If there are gang shootouts or drive-by shootings, the good guys will likely get hurt too eventually. If it were me, I'd get the hell out - out of the bad neighborhood or the rogue ISP/hosting company.

Andrew Clover of Doxdesk.com, well known for his parasite list left a comment. Andrew has been tracking spyware, malware and the pushers for years now, before a lot of us heard about spyware. He wrote:

QUOTE
Atrivo/Intercage do have *some* legitimate customers, and they can be very vocal. But the sheer quantity of abuse in their netblock, from exploits to fraud to KP to spam of all forms, outweighs the legit material by a mile IMO.

And it's no accident: they are unresponsive to complaints, and have admitted they won't can Esthost - their biggest customer, CWS epicentre and #1 blackhat host in the world - despite being aware of the immense abuse they are responsible for.

The other block listed by SANS, 'Inhoster', appears to be the same company as Esthost - as are Critical Internet, Estdomains and Web-Namez. This netblock used also to be Atrivo's; it's not clear to me whether that block is operated by Esthost themselves or by Atrivo for Esthost.

Blocking single domain names is barely feasible any more: there are thousands to block and more new ones all the time. I consider blocking entire netblocks operated by Esthost and Atrivo a very reasonable and measured move.


Andrew mentions other companies like Pilosoft and Netcathost but they will be the subject of another blog. So what about InterCage, formerly Atrivo or Atrivo Technologies? A quick Google search turns up hits like this one.

QUOTE
And, in fact, that up to half of Atrivo's income is dependent on criminal activities, and that Atrivo knowingly (if passively) permits that criminal activity to continue.

That's not an admission calculated to inspire trust. You have another job lined up somplepace, Russ? I'd say the final nail is now in Atrivo's coffin.


Here:

QUOTE
The fine folks at esthost/atrivo are hosting a web site which distributes a variation of the W32/Apher.AE69-tr trojan at hxxp://24-7-search.com/12.hta then same URL cmdexe.exe.

Anyway, the author thoughtfully included a web bug in the hta file so that he, and consequently we, can watch the hits come in on his lovely little baby.


There are complaints about spam, blog comment spam and even wiki spam from InterCage/Atrivo.

Webhelper lists some 200 to 300, maybe more, known CoolWebSearch domains hosted on InterCage IPs, domain names that are so disgusting I wouldn't post them here.

Interestingly enough, forum members at Webhostingtalk.com speak highly of InterCage and its owner, Emil Kacperski.

QUOTE
Atrivo is the best place to get a server. Excellent Support, no downtimes ..

We work with Emil extensively and he is a super cool guy.


I don't know about that. I've personally checked a number of domains on InterCage IP's and got hit with spyware through exploits. InterCage.com has no visible information on their website, just a blank white page, and InterCage.net is parked at GoDaddy, as is InterCage.biz. The whois info shows the same registrant and lists the contact as Emil Kacperski for all three domains.
suzicat
More on SpywareQuake and AtrivoHELL/InterCage/Inhoster/Esthost here:


http://netrn.net/spywareblog/archives/2006...jaa-on-the-run/
Moore
Thanks Suzi , you are doing some great IP hunting keeping track of these gangsters..
Moore
I though this one would be good to add , titled :

why AtrivoHell wont kill their malware cashcow

http://lists.sosdg.org/pipermail/sosdg-nan...ber/009861.html

QUOTE
[sosdg-nanab] Re: Atrivo/InterCage Abuse
Russ at Atrivo.com Russ at Atrivo.com
Fri Sep 2 14:51:13 EST 2005

Previous message: [sosdg-nanab] Re: Atrivo/InterCage Abuse
Next message: [sosdg-nanab] Re: Atrivo/InterCage Abuse
Messages sorted by: [ date ] [ thread ] [ subject ] [ author ]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello fhh,

There is no "network of esthost". The network in which Esthost resides
is our network. Esthost is one of our larger clients, They are very
successful in the industry of web hosting and domain registration. They
just recently became an ICANN Accredited Registrar. I won't comment on
"why" they're so successful... But for some, that may be obvious.

I believe an investigation by law enforcement is a very corrective
step... That would definately clean Esthost up.


I can honestly say, there are 2 of our major clients who are very
successful... and with both of those comes occasional abuse. On one,
it's the occasional spam via exploit.

The other... Esthost... Well... A lot worse abuse then just spam.


One of the things I find quite rediculous is people have taken all of
our business emails from whois etc, and placed them in spam runs. How
stupid can you get?... Honestly! You have never received a spam email
that came from our business servers... Our clients (like EVERY other
companies clients) do get the abuse of spam from their servers. For all
of our clients (esthost aside)... This is not very often. We can't
please everyone. We try... But when you have to go through and work
with a client like esthost who doesn't quite take abuse too
seriously... and the only other thing you can do is null their client's
server.... it's hard to get a "correct" action taken. The correct
action on any intentional spammer is to be immediately removed. As well
as intentional virii distributors. This is seen with iframecash.biz...
We took reports from P Thompson and demanded their removal... That
appeared to be resolved... and then they pop up again.

If I had the ability... I would cut Esthost as a client... But, in
doing so, it causes nearly a quarter if not half of the company's
monthly revenue to be cut. That is not too good of a move nor
reasonably possible wink.gif


People consider Atrivo/InterCage to be some abuse supporting company...
If only any of you knew what the position would be in a company our
size.

It's not as easy as you believe it to be wink.gif

Thank you for your time. Have a great day.

--
Russell Mitchell - Russ[at]Atrivo.com
Atrivo Technologies

--
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.