Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Visiting Some Website Shows Mediasentry Pop Ups
B.I.S.S. Forums > > Guests Forum
True-Ace
Hi, this is so common and I believe everyone of you encounters them. Whenever I visit some sites like torrentspy or megaupload etc, why do I get these mediasentry blocks on my protowall? I mean, if those baddies wants to make a 'contact', then they must have had own that server right? But they don't own them at all. So how can they do that? Does it mean that they squatters everywhere on strangers servers or do they intercept people's connection anyhow they like on the "world wide web"? Isn't it illegal for them to do so, invading on people's privacy? I don't quite understand it getting that kind of connection. Please enlighten me.
firstaid
I have not run into this.

Are you sure they are MediaSentry hits and not a comment that is merged that makes it look like them, when it is not?

What was the actual IP?

firstaid
True-Ace
Hi there, pardon me as I don't know what you mean by "comment that is merged". I'm in total dependant on the blocklist given (which is downloaded from bluetack) and the protowall itself. Sorry there's so many terms that I'm not so familair with.

Take a look at an example of this:
"Hollywood interactive, inc" (64.27.17.196) blocked Proto TCP/destport was:80

well, if you visit torrentspy.com now this one shows up on your protowall screen.
firstaid
hxxp://media.spikedhumor.com/47486/French%...ng%20Lesson.jpg

you are getting ads blocked from that site, there has been suspicion that Hollywood interactive, inc is related to BAYTSP or even possibly a front for them. This same thing was happening to elitetorrents before they went down and other torrentsites that have been taken down.


If these suspicions are true, they could be logging everyone who comes into that site. Have you ever looked up Hollywood interactive, inc and gone to their webpage? That would be a no on the later as they do not even seem to have a website.

Torrentspy is toast for me, has been for a long time. I think it is not a smart move for any torrentsite to have ads linking to anywhere that someone else can log who visits. And extreamly dodgy to team up with california (antip2p rich) Hosting companies.

They are just to dodgy now.

firstaid
True-Ace
Hey, thanks for that conclusion pal. wink.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.