<h4>
HTML ActiveX Object Error
</h4>
Today I ran into a strange message box being displayed while viewing Google images ...
HTML ActiveX Object Error ... don't be fooled, it's yet another trick to push a rogue antivirus progam on your computer.



A quick look at the network captures reveals a 302 redirect.



But why are we getting redirected to blackporn1.com or blackpornmix.com? The answer is simple, the htaccess files on those websites have been hacked.

From blackporn1.com or blackpornmix.com we bump to tubeontvgl.com and uploadmoviez.com. Interesting point ... win-pc-defender.com, uploadmoviez.com and tubeontvgl.com share the same IP. blackpornmix.com has already been caught in htaccess hacks back in March 2009 -
Ref.
Needless to say that the redirect will happen from other search engines too as seen below.

codec.exe.
Additional information
File size: 106499 bytes
MD5...: 9a6d60840a24cc36af6436622275387b
SHA1..: 2e37689944f1dc26dbf058037e855568d422e158
SHA256: e26a8b03dcf2ae9a7fe27fe936d9a8c984d4fec0ff21eefc86ddba643079d7ec
PEiD..: -
ThreatExpert info.
File codec.exe received on 04.27.2009 17:08:02 (CET)
QUOTE
a-squared 4.0.0.101 2009.04.27 Trojan-Downloader.Win32.FakeRean!IK
AhnLab-V3 5.0.0.2 2009.04.27 Dropper/Agent.106499
AntiVir 7.9.0.156 2009.04.27 TR/Dldr.FakeRean.8
Antiy-AVL 2.0.3.1 2009.04.27 -
Authentium 5.1.2.4 2009.04.26 -
Avast 4.8.1335.0 2009.04.26 Win32:Trojan-gen {Other}
AVG 8.5.0.287 2009.04.27 SHeur2.ACOF
BitDefender 7.2 2009.04.27 -
CAT-QuickHeal 10.00 2009.04.27 (Suspicious) - DNAScan
ClamAV 0.94.1 2009.04.27 -
Comodo 1137 2009.04.27 -
DrWeb 4.44.0.09170 2009.04.27 -
eSafe 7.0.17.0 2009.04.27 Win32.TrojanDownload
eTrust-Vet 31.6.6478 2009.04.27 -
F-Prot 4.4.4.56 2009.04.27 -
F-Secure 8.0.14470.0 2009.04.27 Trojan-Dropper.Win32.Agent.ankj
Fortinet 3.117.0.0 2009.04.27 W32/Agent.SR!tr.dldr
GData 19 2009.04.27 Win32:Trojan-gen {Other}
Ikarus T3.1.1.49.0 2009.04.27 Trojan-Downloader.Win32.FakeRean
K7AntiVirus 7.10.717 2009.04.27 -
Kaspersky 7.0.0.125 2009.04.27 Trojan-Dropper.Win32.Agent.ankj
McAfee 5597 2009.04.26 -
McAfee+Artemis 5597 2009.04.26 Generic!Artemis
McAfee-GW-Edition 6.7.6 2009.04.27 Trojan.Dldr.FakeRean.8
Microsoft 1.4602 2009.04.27 TrojanDownloader:Win32/FakeRean
NOD32 4036 2009.04.27 Win32/Adware.WinPCDefender
Norman 6.00.06 2009.04.27 -
nProtect 2009.1.8.0 2009.04.27 -
Panda 10.0.0.14 2009.04.27 Trj/CI.A
PCTools 4.4.2.0 2009.04.27 -
Prevx1 3.0 2009.04.27 -
Rising 21.27.02.00 2009.04.27 -
Sophos 4.41.0 2009.04.27 Mal/EncPk-HH
Sunbelt 3.2.1858.2 2009.04.24 Packer.Lighty.Gen (v)
Symantec 1.4.4.12 2009.04.27 Downloader.MisleadApp
TheHacker 6.3.4.1.315 2009.04.27 -
TrendMicro 8.700.0.1004 2009.04.27 -
VBA32 3.12.10.3 2009.04.27 -
ViRobot 2009.4.27.1710 2009.04.27 -
VirusBuster 4.6.5.0 2009.04.27 Trojan.DR.Agent.JLJP
<h4>
IP details
</h4>
blackporn1.com - 195.190.13.234Updated Date: 30-mar-2009
Creation Date: 19-sep-2008
Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM
Name Server: NS1.CRIMENEWS.ASIA - NS2.CRIMENEWS.ASIA
Registrant: PrivacyProtect.org
blackpornmix.com - 195.190.13.234Updated Date: 28-feb-2009
Creation Date: 19-sep-2008
Registrar: DIRECTI INTERNET SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD. D/B/A PUBLICDOMAINREGISTRY.COM
Name Server: NS1.CRIMENEWS.ASIA - NS2.CRIMENEWS.ASIA
Registrant: PrivacyProtect.org
uploadmoviez.com - 194.165.4.77Updated Date:
24-apr-2009Creation Date: 24-apr-2009
Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Name Server: NS2.NAMESERVERS01.COM - NS3.NAMESERVERS01.COM
Registrant Contact: Pish Upyachka
Constantine Teplyakov constnw@gmail.com
+66 (456) 355540 fax: +66 (456) 456456
My adress str
Pattaya Chon Buri 10152
th
tubeontvgl.com - 194.165.4.77Updated Date:
24-apr-2009Creation Date: 24-apr-2009
Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Name Server: NS2.NAMESERVERS01.COM - NS3.NAMESERVERS01.COM
Registrant Contact: Constantine Teplyakov constnw@gmail.com
+66 (456) 355540 fax: +66 (456) 456456
My adress str
Pattaya Chon Buri 10152
th
win-pc-defender.com - 194.165.4.77Updated Date: 06-apr-2009
Creation Date: 15-mar-2009
Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Name Server: NS2.NAMESERVERS01.COM - NS3.NAMESERVERS01.COM
Registrant Contact: Nexton Limited
Sergey Ryabov director@climbing-games.com
+79219270961 fax:
Scherbakova st., 6-38
Saint-Petersburg Saint-Petersburg 197375
ru
My adress str in the whois details ... ya gotta be joking.