<h4>
File details
</h4>
Filename: File720.exe

File size: 19456 bytes
MD5: ab3ff449d2cf83f2b79d3bc9bfede8ae
SHA1: dc7c25751529a615bdc47e3679d9b2d5847cff37
PEiD: -
QUOTE
File file720.exe received on 04.26.2008 00:44:14 (CET)
Antivirus Version Last Update Result
AhnLab-V3 2008.4.25.2 2008.04.25 -
AntiVir 7.8.0.10 2008.04.25 -
Authentium 4.93.8 2008.04.26 -
Avast 4.8.1169.0 2008.04.25 -
AVG 7.5.0.516 2008.04.25 -
BitDefender 7.2 2008.04.26 -
CAT-QuickHeal 9.50 2008.04.25 -
ClamAV 0.92.1 2008.04.26 -
DrWeb 4.44.0.09170 2008.04.25 -
eSafe 7.0.15.0 2008.04.21 -
eTrust-Vet 31.3.5736 2008.04.26 -
Ewido 4.0 2008.04.25 -
F-Prot 4.4.2.54 2008.04.25 -
F-Secure 6.70.13260.0 2008.04.25 -
FileAdvisor 1 2008.04.26 -
Fortinet 3.14.0.0 2008.04.25 -
Ikarus T3.1.1.26.0 2008.04.25 -
Kaspersky 7.0.0.125 2008.04.26 -
McAfee 5282 2008.04.25 -
Microsoft 1.3408 2008.04.22 -
NOD32v2 3055 2008.04.25 -
Norman 5.80.02 2008.04.25 -
Panda 9.0.0.4 2008.04.25 Suspicious file
Prevx1 V2 2008.04.26 -
Rising 20.41.42.00 2008.04.25 -
Sophos 4.28.0 2008.04.25 -
Sunbelt 3.0.1056.0 2008.04.17 -
Symantec 10 2008.04.26 -
TheHacker 6.2.92.292 2008.04.25 -
VBA32 3.12.6.5 2008.04.25 -
VirusBuster 4.3.26:9 2008.04.25 -
Webwasher-Gateway 6.6.2 2008.04.25 -
<h4>
What happend ?
</h4>
I wanted to spend a calm evening without malware, sploits, infections etc ... just reading some stuff on the web like ya all when suddenly PG popped up with a warning ...
IPB Image
I can't resist of course, I had to discover why this file arrived on my PC. First of all stop all browsing activity and take a peek at the logs. Working backwords did lead to the source of the alert ... an Interstitial Advert served by adbrite - which I never saw btw due to the sploit. (See screenshot below under IP details)
IPB Image
IPB Image
As we see on the (shorted) packet captures above, the URL / website to display is globalfreightonline.com * DO NOT VISIT THIS URL !!! *
Network capture shows the presence of an encrypted script on the homepage.
IPB Image
Full script.
IPB Image
Which decodes to
IPB Image
Which decodes to an iframe
IPB Image
From there we hit 13fr.info/forum/getexe.exe?o=3&t=[removed]&i=[removed]&e=[removed]

<h4>
globalfreightonline.com - 75.125.60.2
</h4>
The website seen through the Interstitial Advert.
IPB Image
Website Title: Global Freight Forwarders Group
ICANN Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Created: 2008-02-01
Expires: 2009-02-01
Name Server: NS1.SITEGROUND222.COM (has 538 domains)
Name Server: NS2.SITEGROUND222.COM
Whois Server: whois.enom.com

Server Type: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a PHP-CGI/0.4mm
IP Location - Texas - Dallas - Theplanet.com Internet Services Inc

Reverse IP: 498 other sites hosted on this server.

Registration Service Provided By: siteground.com
Contact: newdomains@siteground.com

Domain name: globalfreightonline.com

Registrant Contact:

Susan Olson (newdomains@siteground.com)
+1.9063412555
Fax:
1141N Oak Street
Manistique, MI 49854
US

<h4>
13fr.info - 78.129.166.45
</h4>
Website Title: 13fr.info
Created: 2007-09-27
Expires: 2008-09-27
Whois Server: whois.afilias.info

Server Type: Apache
IP Location - Italy - Feelitaly Llc

Domain ID:D20041624-LRMS
Domain Name:13FR.INFO
Created On:27-Sep-2007 09:12:31 UTC
Last Updated On:27-Nov-2007 02:22:51 UTC
Expiration Date:27-Sep-2008 09:12:31 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:EstDomains, Inc. (R295-LRMS)
Status:OK
Registrant ID:PP-SP-001
Registrant Name:Domain Admin
Registrant Organization:PrivacyProtect.org
Registrant Street1:P.O. Box 97
Registrant Street2:All Postal Mails Rejected, visit Privacyprotect.org
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:Moergestel
Registrant State/Province:
Registrant Postal Code:5066 ZH
Registrant Country:NL
Registrant Phone:+45.36946676
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.: