My first thought was something like DNS cache poisoning was being used - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DNS_cache_poisoning -
A lot of systems are currently vulnerable - http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/800113
Either that or someone hacked the domain control panel and just added it the normal way
QUOTE
removespyware.ru IN A 70.42.185.10 86400s (1.00:00:00)
10.185.42.70.in-addr.arpa IN PTR www.pcworld.com 900s (00:15:00)
10.185.42.70.in-addr.arpa IN PTR www.pcworld.com 900s (00:15:00)
I can't imagine PCworld would go and add something like that on their own.
We have removespyware.ru listed in the hosts file and the last record for it in the spyware blocklist was from 2005:
QUOTE
67.18.129.154 - removespyware.ru
Active, Approved Spyware Related 2005-01-21
Active, Approved Spyware Related 2005-01-21
Visiting removespyware.ru gives you an identical site that appears to be pcworld, and even the cookies are being set from pcworld..
Doing a reverse IP search from domain tools doesn't show anything for the domain hosted on that IP address, and doesn't connect removespyware with pcworld,
QUOTE
Search Results for 70.42.185.10 [reverse DNS - www.pcworld.com]
9 Results for 70.42.185.10
1. Digitalworldonline.com
2. Filesworld.com
3. Fileworld.com
4. Pcworld.com
5. Pcworlddownload.com
6. Pcworlddownload.net
7. Webshopper.com
8. Worldbench.com
9. Savedos.com
9 Results for 70.42.185.10
1. Digitalworldonline.com
2. Filesworld.com
3. Fileworld.com
4. Pcworld.com
5. Pcworlddownload.com
6. Pcworlddownload.net
7. Webshopper.com
8. Worldbench.com
9. Savedos.com
Robtex picks it up though:
http://www.robtex.com/dns/pcworld.com/shared.html
QUOTE
hostnames sharing ip with a-records
pcworlddownload.com
pcworlddownload.net
removespyware.ru
webshopper.com
worldshopper.com
www.pcworld.com
pcworlddownload.com
pcworlddownload.net
removespyware.ru
webshopper.com
worldshopper.com
www.pcworld.com
looking up the .ru domain directly brings up the info.
QUOTE
canonical name removespyware.ru.
addresses 70.42.185.10
domain: REMOVESPYWARE.RU
type: CORPORATE
nserver: ns3.ringtone-phone.com.
nserver: ns4.about-blank.biz.
nserver: ns2.valu-health.com.
nserver: ns1.trulit.com.
state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED
person: Dmitry V Shipulin
phone: +7 8129627864
e-mail: nettime @ jps.ru
registrar: RUCENTER-REG-RIPN
created: 2004.05.11
paid-till: 2009.05.11
source: TC-RIPN
Last updated on 2008.07.20 10:38:18 MSK/MSD.
addresses 70.42.185.10
domain: REMOVESPYWARE.RU
type: CORPORATE
nserver: ns3.ringtone-phone.com.
nserver: ns4.about-blank.biz.
nserver: ns2.valu-health.com.
nserver: ns1.trulit.com.
state: REGISTERED, DELEGATED
person: Dmitry V Shipulin
phone: +7 8129627864
e-mail: nettime @ jps.ru
registrar: RUCENTER-REG-RIPN
created: 2004.05.11
paid-till: 2009.05.11
source: TC-RIPN
Last updated on 2008.07.20 10:38:18 MSK/MSD.
Last update was today.. can't be too good whatever is going on there.
Here's another widespread exploit that guy "dmitry" was connected to :
http://koffix.com/research/blog/2005/judin.ru-exploit/
More on the pc world thing here, this time it was spywiper copying pc world:
http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2008/05/ra...g-pc-world.html
So what are they up to ?





