Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Reuters To Go After Infringers
B.I.S.S. Forums > Bluetack Forums > Global News
dingdongding
p2pnet.net News:- Reuters says it's going to use real-time search and filter software developed in Norway to find Internet sites which infringe Reuters copyrights.


The company, FAST (Fast Search & Transfer), will use its FAST ESP as a search derivative application to identify and log Reuters content on the Internet, it says.


"This is new for us," company spokesman Peter Gorman told p2pnet, explaining that until now, FAST software has been used mainly for company specific searches.


Reuters will probably go after sites that post whole articles, or portions or paragraphs, without specific permission, which will be bad news for thousands of Net sites which routinely cut-and-paste its stories, often with minimal or no reference to http://p2pnet.net/story/1062

With the current interest in filter technology, we asked Gorman if FAST might end up trying to identify file sharers.


"I'm not sure if our technology could be used by the recording industry," he told p2pnet, "but the flexibilty of our search platform enables organizations to use it in innovatove applications. For example, a police force in Asia currently uses our technology for tracking pedophiles."


FAST ESP will be initially deploy towards the end of April with a full launch scheduled for the summer.


p2pnet has asked Reuters UK to say exactly what it'll be looking for, and how it'll deal with offending sites.


Watch this space.

(Wednesday 24th March 2004)
dingdongding
added to antip2p.txt

FAST SEARCH & TRANSFER FASTSEARCH914-131-0 (NET-12-96-131-0-1):12.96.131.0-12.96.131.31
Fast Search & Transfer, Inc. RESO-216-204-56-0 (NET-216-204-56-0-1):216.204.56.0-216.204.56.127
Fast Search and Transfer PNAP-BSN-FASTS-RM-01 (NET-66-151-181-0-1):66.151.181.0-66.151.181.255
Fast Search, Inc. QWEST-MCC-FASTSRCH2 (NET-66-77-74-0-1):66.77.74.0-66.77.74.255
Fast Search, Inc. QWEST-MCC-FASTSRCH3 (NET-66-77-73-0-1):66.77.73.0-66.77.73.255
username7
Does anyone know anything about them using spyware our joining up with Micro$oft?

My PC has been sending out requests for quite sometime to 208.68.143.55 and 208.68.139.89 (FAST Search & Transfer) about 10 to 20 times every few minutes.
I've used every anti-virus/spy/malware I could think of with no hits. I've check with TCPView and they coming out of the System process. Finally I just reformatted with a clean version of Windows and STILL I'm getting the same behavior.

I know with PeerBlock stopping them, I shouldn't worry too much but it just bothers me.

I can't dig up much info on the company on the net. I did see some articles claiming that MS has bought them out and something about "EnterpriseSearch"

Thanks.
Moore
Hi username7 smile.gif

Well first thing, this doesn't appear to be related to a malware hijack. I don't think you need to worry about your computer being infected with a real virus etc.

The two IP's you posted are from the Road Runner dnssearch.rr.com page, which says is powered by Yahoo search.

Now that Yahoo have joined forces with Microsoft to battle Google for control of the world, the Yahoo search engine is now powered by Microsoft's Bing search engine. That's the only connection I can find with the FAST IP addresses you are seeing, as you pointed out, FAST is now owned by Microsoft.

QUOTE
dnssearch.rr.com
208.68.143.55
208.68.139.89
-
208.68.143.0/24 Microsoft/FAST


http://www.robtex.com/ip/208.68.143.55.html
http://uptime.netcraft.com/up/graph/?host=dnssearch.rr.com

I can only guess at what stuff Road Runner has running on your computer but this is probably some service related to your internet connection which keeps trying to call out. Maybe it's something that monitors the sites you visit, possibly a anti-phishing filter etc or just related to your DNS services.

Do you have the Road Runner toolbar installed or anything "search" related from them ?

This was also an interesting problem. Could be related to your DNS servers:
http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?DiscussionID=8249
http://forums.opendns.com/comments.php?Dis...ID=8249#Item_14

-

Another (maybe unrelated but still almost interesting) thing I found was that the IP 208.68.143.55 is blacklisted in one RBL (Real-time Blackhole List) - http://rbls.org/208.68.143.55

QUOTE
rbl.efnetrbl.org - Hosts are added by our bots as users connect with hacked boxes and open proxies


It doesn't look like there's anything bad being reported to D-Shield about 208.68.143.55 though:
http://www.dshield.org/ipinfo.html?ip=208.68.143.55

-

RoadRunner DNS Search FAQ:
http://dnssearch.rr.com/?cat=faq&con=dns

QUOTE
Why am I here?
Road Runner has enabled a service to redirect web address errors to a helpful search page. You entered an unknown name that Road Runner used to present site suggestions that you may find useful. Clicking any of these suggestions provides you with Yahoo! search results, which may include relevant sponsored links.

Why should I use Road Runner's name redirect service?
Road Runner's redirect service makes finding website easier and more convenient. The service uses the entered non-existing website name to determine useful search results. Often, you will see a desired website or page that meets your needs.

What is DNS?
DNS is an acronym for the Internet's Domain Name System. The DNS is primarily used to map Internet computer addresses to domain names such as www.google.com. For more information, please visit Wikipedia.

How do I opt-out of the name redirect service?
If this service is not right for you, please visit your Preferences page to opt out. At any point in time, you can opt back in to the service by visiting your Preferences page.

What do I do if this service is interfering with other software?
If this service is interfering with other software on your computer that relies on receiving NXDOMAIN responses, please visit your Preferences page to opt out. At any point in time, you can opt back in to the service by visiting your Preferences page.


-

Preferences
http://dnssearch.rr.com/?cat=pref&con=dns
QUOTE
These preferences allow you to opt in or out of the non-existing domain landing service. At any point in time you can opt in or out of these services using this page.


-

I would suggest talking to your ISP and let them know this is driving you crazy, to the point you went and reinstalled your whole computer to get rid of it.

Ask them directly if there's anything you can do to really turn it off, and find out why it is calling out so often. If you are blocking the connections with Peerblock and your internet still works fine then it's probably not something you really need to have running.

But you need to talk to your ISP about it. Hopefully they know what is actually going on. Good luck.

-

Please don't forget to enlighten the guys here about what is going on:
http://forums.peerblock.com/read.php?8,10095
username7
Hmm, that is interesting. Thanks for looking into it. I don't have anything roadrunner related software-wise. I do have their broadband server, however.

This is why I was blaming FAST:


I just took that, the .55 IP isn't on it but they seem to alternate.

As for block lists, I'm using just the standard PeerBlock lists (which I believe to be bluetack's level 1-3 lists)
Moore
Yep the final source is FAST. But as I said, it's because RoadRunner has partnered with Yahoo, and they are partnered with Microsoft, who now own FAST. smile.gif

If you have no software from RoadRunner then bring up a command prompt and check out your DNS servers.

--
on XP :

Go to start -> run
type in cmd to get to a command prompt
then type in ipconfig

--
on Windows 7 type in cmd in the search box to get a command prompt and type in ipconfig.

See if you have those IP's listed.

--
You can just keep blocking it but until you ask RoadRunner about how to stop it, you'll probably never get rid of it.
username7
I have no DNS listed on ipconfig:

QUOTE
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f1fd:edfb:47fd:5144%18
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.5
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1


I checked my router settings and found the WAN DNS IPs are:
209.18.47.61
209.18.47.62

Plus, I should mention that before my reformat, I tried ZoneAlarm which blocked the connections as well. So either they are referencing the same lists or it is something more universal.
JordansBliss
I'm wondering what effect this will have on other big business if they are successful
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.