Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sites that should be unblocked
B.I.S.S. Forums > Bluetack Software > HOSTS Section > Host Submissions
Pages: 1, 2, 3
ncee
Found another one: www.sendspace.com
sendspace.com

It a online file sharing website like rapidshare.de
Kimberly
I'll have a look as soon as possible ncee, thx for reporting.
Kimberly
Done.
ncee
z.about.com

it block useful images on this site: altreligion.about.com/library/glossary/blsymbols.htm
ncee
img.shopping.com blocking it break:
www.mysimon.com/Fishing/9000-11034_8-0.html?sdcq=dnatrs-sp_type_fishing-cheaper_than_dirt_/dflltrail-Fishing~Cheaper%20Than%20Dirt!
Kimberly
Both fixed in next update. Ty
Eagle
Hi,

I've noticed that fc.webmasterpro.de got blocked.

Though, those guys (which I know quite well) don't serve ads, but a FlashCounter-server (the 1st ever).
Of course, they got an advertising-script at a server, but that's definitely NOT fc.webmasterpro.de wink.gif


Cheers,
Martin.. biggrin.gif
Eagle
Hi,

yet another host that should get unblocked: web.de

Reason is simple: web.de is a freemail-hoster and therefore many people will use that.. smile.gif

Though, ads.web.de should still be blocked.. wink.gif
Changes
Hey I have a false positive here.

www.creative.com as in Creative Labs is blocked.
Kimberly
fc.webmasterpro.de - remains in as all refers are javascript = blabla and site

web.de - will look up asap

www.creative.com - will be removed in next update (tomorrow), sorry for glitch.
Eagle
Well, I can't understand your reason for fc.webmasterpro.de as the JS-code is only needed to stay W3C-conform while serving a counter.

So an explanation would be very kind of you! smile.gif
Kimberly
It's simple, fc.webmasterpro.de itself is not a problem.

You have a website called mysite.com for example, and on that page you have that flash counter. Code will be like below :

QUOTE
<script type="text/javascript" src="hxxp://fc.webmasterpro.de/counter.php?name=yourname&style=none"></script>


yourname in the sample above can be a name, a brand ...

So to block the counter with a hosts file, you must block the domain fc.webmasterpro.de


web.de will be removed in next update.
Eagle
Yes, I do understand that.

Though, why should a counter-service get blocked? I mean, they offer a (very good) service, free for all and without any costs.

So, of course they use code similar to ad-related pages, but that code is only used to generate a counter..
Kimberly
Counters track people and are often used to give the impression that a site is popular when using search engines, therefore they are blocked.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hit_counter

Using a similar technique, a rogue product (eg. infected with spyware) will almost be on top when doing a google search ... and people will get infected with crap. Or a website where ppl get hijacked by a drive by download will use similar techniques to increase traffic and thus infected a high number of PC's.
Eagle
Hi,

sorry for the late reply, but I didn't want to reply until I could clearify some things with the guys at WebmasterPro.

Reading your post and then comparing it to what *their* counter does (Not those services around the web elsewhere!), you're absolutely wrong.

There is NO "pushing" at Google by using the FlashCounter.

There is NO "rogue" part within FlashCounter.

There is NO spyware inside the counter (you can grab the counter's source by entering the Javascript's url into your URL-bar)..

There is NO "crap" inside the script, nor the flash-file nor the service itself.

There is NO attempt to hijack people done when the counter gets loaded.

There is NO "drive by-download" occuring while accessing the counter.

There is NO traffic-increase except for the flash-file which gets *very* little information about yourself (only your IP address - and that number gets cut at the last 3 numbers) and the visitor's details (like used OS, browser, etc.) can't be used in any case to identify you as a visitor of a website which uses FlashCounter.

There is NO piece inside and also no try done by the counter which might harm your system, your privacy nor your experience while browsing such a page - just a service which gives a webmaster the ability to track his/her visitors in case of used browser and stuff like that.
Honestly, you can't tell me that this is something you'd like to see blocked, because webmasters need such information to optimize their website(s)!

Again, FlashCounter is free, the source is available for insight (using the script's URL) and most important: WebmasterPro doesn't get paid by someone.. - Only an ad at the statistics-page of a specific counter. But that ad isn't shown above/next to/below the counter, it's just at the statistics-page!

So, all in all, I can't find any reason for blocking it since there's no existing "danger" if you use WebmasterPro's FlashCounter! - Others might harm or spy users, but the guys I'm talking about are very, very nice guys you would enjoy if you could meet them in real life!

In case you'd like to contact one of them for remaining questions, here is the mail-address of one: david.danier AT webmasterpro.de (OpenPGP: http://blackhole.pca.dfn.de:11371/pks/look...rch=0xF5C6AD30)


With the hope that I could successfully convince you of the harmlessness of this FlashCounter and that it gets removed soon,

Martin
Kimberly
QUOTE(Eagle @ Nov 13 2006, 01:49 AM) [snapback]76191[/snapback]
Reading your post and then comparing it to what *their* counter does (Not those services around the web elsewhere!), you're absolutely wrong.

Let's get this straight once and for all. The link to Wikipedia is the definition of what a counter is incase someome reading the topic does not know what it is. I don't accuse them of anything at all, Im simply showing what the use of a counter in general can do or it's purpose. The post is not directed towards them or any other counter in particular.

I will not remove any counter from the lists, period, case closed.
terriers
Hi to all,
I only joined this site because i found that my site www.digital-manchester was in among a list of pornography sites on here:

B.I.S.S. Forums > Bluetack Software > HOSTS Section > Host Submissions
CsimbiJul 31 2004, 03:27 PM
127.0.0.1 www.digital-manchester.com


I would really like to know why, i am a photographer and my site has absolutely nothing to do with pornography.
Thanks,
Bill.
dingdongding
i originally had requested the following sites added to the hosts file thinking they were also selling counterfeit items but i have no evidence for that (pigpony.com and pig-pony were the actual ones involved and the ones below are affiliated with them)

so if these could be removed that would be great

campus111.com
usa111.com
v3rv3
ALL SAFE ! smile.gif

STICKAM.COM:38.118.199.165-38.118.199.165
STICKAM.COM:38.118.199.168-38.118.199.170
STICKAM.COM:38.118.199.175-38.118.199.175
STICKAM.COM:38.118.199.177-38.118.199.179
STICKAM.COM:38.118.199.183-38.118.199.183
BitTorrentInc allowed to enable DHT mode in uTorrent software:72.20.34.145-72.20.34.145
DOMMEL BELGIUM INTERNET PROVIDER:193.109.184.72-193.109.184.72
DOMMEL BELGIUM INTERNET PROVIDER:193.109.184.75-193.109.194.75
Kimberly
These are blocks from the lists, not entries from the hosts file. Please post your request in the appropriate section of the forum.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.